LIP Diaries: Settling into the House

Chukwuemeka OrjiBy CHUKWUEMEKA ORJI
The orientation course in Ota, Ogun State, may have prepared me for the Legislative Internship Programme but when I was to report at the Enugu State House of Assembly, I didn’t know what to expect.

I wondered if I would be accepted. I was also curious about the staff that I would have to call colleagues for another month or so.On arrival at the Assembly, I reported at the office of the Clerk. The Clerk turned out to be a friendly man. He welcomed and directed me to the Department of Legislative Matters. The Head of the department took me on a tour of the Assembly building, showing me the offices of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker and other legislators.  He further gave me a description of the job specifications of the different departments in the Assembly. I was later deployed to office of the Director Legislative Matters.

The next day I resumed for duty looking forward to the House session. My supervisor directed me to sit at the gallery and observe the sitting. It was my first time witnessing a legislative body in live session and, although it was short, I enjoyed the experience.

So far, internship at the Enugu assembly has been interesting as well as instructive. Some days are very exciting while others are very boring, especially when there are no activities. I have mixed feelings about working but I am optimistic things will improve. In the end, what matters is whether I learn from this experience and as the ALF Executive Director, Mr Ayodele Aderinwale, said during the orientation workshop, I can either learn how to do things or how not to do things.

Chukwuemeka Orji is a graduate of Urban and Regional Planning from Enugu State University of Science and Technology (ESUT). He is currently an intern at the Enugu State House of Assembly

One thought on “LIP Diaries: Settling into the House

Leave a Reply

